Posted in Top Ten Tuesday

10 Books I Can’t Wait to Read that are Coming Out Later This Year

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly book meme run by The Broke and the Bookish. Find out more information about it here.

This week’s topic:

June 14: Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases For The Second Half Of The Year (since we did a topic about the releases we were excited about for the first half of 2016 back in the beginning of the year) Feel free to tweak it how you want to — like most anticipated fantasy for the second half of 2016 or debut authors. Whatever you want!

This year has already provided a bounty of amazing books and 2017 is looking up to be another great year in YA, with a bunch of my favorite authors coming out with new books (*cough* Becky Albertalli, Adam Silvera, Lance Rubin, Adi Alsaid, etc. *cough*). But before I get ahead of myself, there are still a lot of books I’m anticipating in the remainder of 2016.

Here’s what I’m waiting on and why:

28588459

1. Still Life with Tornado by A.S. King, Release Date: October 11, 2016

I first heard about this book at a reading I went to for King’s most recent novel, I Crawl Through It. As soon as she described it, I knew it was a book I wanted to read. And then the cover design came out. And then I read I Crawl Through It and fell into the rabbit hole of surrealism. So yeah, I’m pretty psyched for this book. Dysfunctional families, a female lead, surrealism, an urban setting and existential angst? Count me in. This already sounds like it will be one of my favorite books.

22466429

2. Kids of Appetite by David Arnold, Release Date: September 20, 2016

From the moment I started sobbing on an NJTransit train in the middle of reading Mosquitoland, I knew that David Arnold was going to be one of my favorite authors. And then after getting to meet him at an event where he shared a personal essay with a captivated, so-quiet-you-could-hear-a-pin-drop audience, I was even more of a fan. Needless to say, I can’t wait to get my hands on this book in the fall. Not only does this book take place a stone’s throw away from me (love it when I find Jersey books!), but it promises to deliver the perfect blend of tragedy and comedy that I loved in his debut.

22299763

3. Crooked Kingdom* by Leigh Bardugo, Release Date: September 27, 2016

Anyone who read Six of Crowsthe opener for this high fantasy duology, knows exactly why this book is ranked so high up on my list. Bardugo is a master at character development, world-building and suspense. I’m both nervous and excited to dive into this book and find out what happens to Kaz, Inez and the rest of the lovable criminals that populated the first book. And one can only hope for no mourners, no funerals.

28512547

4. Aerie* by Maria Dahvana-Headley, Release Date: October 4, 2016

Last year, I bought Magonia on a whim because I liked the cover and it sounded interesting enough. Little did I know that I would fall in love with the book and be introduced to a stunningly weird and beautiful new world. Seriously. It’s rare to find an author with as distinct a style as Dahvana-Headley’s eccentric prose that reads like verse at points. I can’t wait to find out what happens to Aza Ray and Jason in this sequel with a cover (and hopefully a story) just as dazzling as the first.

26198216

5. Shiny Broken Pieces* by Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton, Release Date: July 12, 2016

Revenge and ballerinas. It really doesn’t get much better than that. I loved the first book, Tiny Pretty Things, so so much. A story focused on the lives of competitive girls filled to the brim with romance, backstabbing and perfecting timed twists and turns. The first book left off on a cliffhanger that has left me waiting for this book, and I can’t wait to find out what happens to my favorite cutthroat girls Gigi, Bette and June.

26258306

6. 12 Days of Dash and Lily* by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn, Release Date: October 18, 2016

Total disclaimer: I am that person that sits on the couch beginning in November and only has Hallmark Channel on through January. The movies are SO bad, but SO good at the same time, and there’s nothing I love more than a wrapped-in-a-bow tale with romance that leaves everyone believing in the power and magic of Christmas. Remembering how much I loved the first one and knowing that these two can deliver a sweet romance with lots of heart, I look forward to reading this one (and I might have to save it for a little closer to the holidays).

Books Jay Asher

7. What Light by Jay Asher, Release Date: October 11, 2016

Continuing on my believe-in-the-magic-of-Christmas bender, I am SO excited for Asher’s new solo novel. I loved Thirteen Reasons Why and can only hope that his latest story delivers the balance of poignant emotion and great storytelling that I love in his work. I am so excited to read about Sierra’s life on a Christmas tree farms (cue the memory of a gazillion Hallmark movies with Christmas tree farms) and nothing warms my heart more than a romance between a conflicted girl and a bad boy looking for a second chance.

23854755

8. Been Here All Along by Sandy Hall, Release Date: August 30, 2016

As soon as I saw that Lord of the Rings was going to be involved in this book, I knew I wanted to get my hands on it. I love cute and quirky romance stories, and anything with LGBTQPIA+ characters is an added plus. I hope this book is the breezy summer read-by-the-pool book it seems to be!

22733608

9. A Week of Mondays by Jessica Brody, Release Date: August 2, 2016

Just to put it out there, Groundhog Day is one of my favorite movies, and this seems to be a cute, fun teenage girl spin on the classic trope of living the same day over and over again while working towards a desired outcome. I can sympathize with the idea of having a terrible day that I just want to live over again, so I can’t wait to see how this works out for Ellison in this contemporary comedy!

28448287

10. Replica by Lauren Oliver, Release Date: October 4, 2016

I’m not usually a science fiction reader, but I’ve been hearing a lot of great buzz about this book. Plus, it sounds like a comparable story to the Control duology by Lydia Kang. Anything with secret testing facilities and uncovering family secrets is really fascinating to me, and I like the idea of getting an insider and an outsider point of view. I hope that this book will live up to the great things I’ve been hearing about it!

 

And….here are some honorable mentions that I just couldn’t leave off of the list:

Ashes*by Laurie Halse Anderson (Release Date: November 20, 2016)

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab (Release Date: July 5, 2016)

Rebellion* by Kass Morgan (Release Date: December 6, 2016)

 

A * denotes that the book is the second or third book in a series.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author:

Writer, avid reader, blogger, art history nerd, student journalist & editor, bookstore connoisseur, honeybee advocate. Proud Jersey Girl. Drew '17.

18 thoughts on “10 Books I Can’t Wait to Read that are Coming Out Later This Year

  1. I’ve read a lot of good things about Leigh’s books, but I’ve never read them. Perhaps someday I will. Also, Sandy’s books always sound great, and her covers are so unique! Fun list. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Rissi! Sandy used to be the teen librarian in my hometown when I was in middle school so I’m psyched to finally read one of her books. And you HAVE to read some of Leigh’s books. I’m not a fantasy person but I love them!

      Like

  2. The tag this week has really made me realize how far behind I am in series lol. But good thing is that means I can just marathon them!
    I’m super excited for Replica,, A Week of Mondays & What Light, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t heard of some of these books, but based on the short descriptions and super pretty covers (I have a weakness for pretties) they look really amazing! I cannot wait for Crooked Kingdom!!! Great selections this week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. crooked kingdom and replica are two of my anticipated releases as well! i cannot wait to read them! Leigh Bardugo is one of my favorite authors, and replica will probably be my first Lauren Oliver book!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

