Posted in Top Ten Tuesday

Ten January-June 2016 Releases I Need on My TBR NOW!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly book meme run by The Broke and the Bookish. Find out more information about it here.

This week’s topic:

June 21: Top Ten Favorite 2016 Releases So Far This Year

 

Okay, so I’m going to think outside the box on this one. Because as much as I’d love to gush about my favorite 2016 releases so far (and you know, follow directions), I also feel like so many good books have been coming out that I’ve missed some key ones.

Here are my top ten 2016 releases that I somehow missed, but really need to read soon, and why:

23677341

1. We Are the Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson

I’m a huge fan of Kurt Vonnegut and when I read the description for this book, all I could think was, “OMG. If Vonnegut wrote YA, it would probably sound a little like this.” This book about a boy facing a series of personal and family tragedies and then faced with a potentially world-saving decision sounds like something I need to read soon…or now.

23546634

2. The Way I Used to Be by Amber Smith

This book about the survivor of a rape sounds so sad and tragic, but it also sounds like an important read and I’m not one to shy away from books that tackle tough issues. I’m also interested in the way that the book is sold in four parts (freshman, sophomore, junior and senior year). Strong but gradual character development is something I really treasure in a good book, so I’m hoping this story meets my expectations.

18626414

3. This Song is (Not) for You by Laura Nowlin

I’ve seen a lot of mixed buzz about this book-some overwhelmingly good and some overwhelmingly bad. This, however, has made me even more interested in this book about a band and a quirky love triangle. I’m excited for its exploration of asexuality. And to top it off, it sounds slightly similar to The Scar Boys by Len Vlahos, which was a book that I loved.

25528801

4. Exit, Pursued by a Bear by E.K. Johnston

It should be noted that this book also deals with rape. However, I am intrigued both by the Shakespearean title and the cover and the description. All of them pull me in and I can’t help but want to read it. It sounds like it’s going to be another tough read, but based on the buzz I’ve heard, will be a touching one as well.

25695607

5. My Kind of Crazy by Robin Reul

I love stories about friendship and I kind of love pyrotechnics and fireworks so this book sounds like it will be a great match for me. I’m excited to read about how the characters become close and hope this book is the twisty, captivating page-turner I want it to be. I noticed some buzz about this book shortly before it came out, but somehow it never made it onto my TBR.

25467698

6. The Love that Split the World by Emily Henry

I heard a lot of great buzz about this book, but I was buying a ton of other books and never got around to getting this one. First of all, the cover is gorgeous. On top of that, the description sounds intriguing. I’m not usually into fantasy books (of course every time I say this I end up reading an amazing fantasy book) but this tale about time travel and love sounds like something I need to get my hands on.

23480844

7. Firsts by Laurie Elizabeth Flynn

The concept of this book sounds really sad and intriguing at once. I heard some great buzz about this book, but now that I know more about it, I can’t wait to get my hands on it. This sounds a little like “Easy A” but in YA book form and sounds like it’ll have a little more heart and a little less cheap laughs.

25944787

8. Goldfish by Nat Luurtsema

As someone who is terrified of failure, this sounds like the kind of book that I need to read. I’m excited to read about the life of this teen failed Olympic hopeful and see how she turns things around for her, or at the very least change. It came out just a few weeks ago, but I hope I’ll be happy to have caught this fish of a novel early on.

26627343

9. One Silver Summer by Rachel Hickman

This novel sounds like the cute, but full of heart contemporary romance novel I could read again and again, sweet as candy. I  love love stories, and this one sounds like it’ll be the YA novel version of some of the royal Hallmark movies I love to watch again and again, especially around the holidays. I hope I’ll love this one, especially if I read it on the beach or by the pool.

21945590

10. Underwater by Marisa Reichardt

The road to Hell is paved with good intentions. At least, that was my first reaction when I read the description of this book with a gorgeous cover. I’m also a huge fan of anything in YA with mental health representation. This might not be a light and fluffy summer read, but I can’t wait to get my hands on this book and dive into a girl’s journey in and out of depression.

 

And, because there aren’t just ten books that I really want to read from the first half of 2016, here are some honorable mentions:

Don’t Get Caught by Kurt Dinan

Away We Go by Emil Ostrovski

We Were Never Here by Jennifer Gilmore


What about you? Are there any releases this year that you overlooked? Are there any that I really need to know about? Did you find some additions to your TBR in this list?

Let me know in the comments!

 

Author:

Writer, avid reader, blogger, art history nerd, student journalist & editor, bookstore connoisseur, honeybee advocate. Proud Jersey Girl. Drew '17.

13 thoughts on “Ten January-June 2016 Releases I Need on My TBR NOW!

  1. Great post! 😀 I know The Love that Split the World is such a hyped book- perhaps the reason I haven’t gotten to it sooner, but I’ve been hearing some lovely things. I might need to get to it. I also agree completely – darker, tragic topics are definitely difficult to read, but also so important. So often survivors of such incidents feel that they don’t have a voice, and books such as these let them know that they are not alone. 😦

    Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you and thanks for reading! I don’t usually feel drawn to hyped books either but this one sounds really good. I agree. I think dark books are opportunities to develop empathy, which is so important!

      Like

  2. I’ve recently reviewed The Way I Used to Be and actually don’t think the character development is that great. The book is a tough but worthwhile read, but in my opinion the four-part narrative structure ended up with the character jumping through time, so lots of character growth is missing in real-time, i.e. it’s suddenly the next part and the character has changed, but we don’t see why or how she changed. Hope you like it, though!

    Firsts actually made it to my TTT this week. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Exit, Pursued by a Bear is definitely one that I want to read after all of the good things people keeping saying about it! Great List, We Are the Ants is getting added to my TBR List immediately 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

