Posted in Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten “Underrated” Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly book meme run by The Broke and the Bookish. Find out more information about it here.

This week’s topic:

July 5: Top Ten Books We Enjoyed That Have Under 2000 Ratings On Goodreads (we’ve done underrated books a bunch of times in the past 6 years but thanks to Lenore at Celebrity Readers for suggesting this topic as a new way to talk about underrated books especially when underrated is subjective. An easy way to find this — go to Goodreads, your read list, at the top of your read list where it says settings you can add a column for # of ratings, then you can sort by that. If you aren’t a Goodreads user you can look up books you think are underrated and see what their # of reviews is on Goodreads? Or if that’s too hard you can spin it some other way!

Full disclosure. I don’t use Goodreads. I’m just not the kind of person that would keep up with it. I have a pretty good sense of what I have and what’s coming out, so I just leave it at that. Still, I poked around to see how many ratings some of my favorite books have gotten, and here are some hidden gems with under 2000 ratings.

8715124

1. Dreamland Social Club by Tara Altebrando (762 ratings)

I couldn’t believe this book didn’t have more ratings on GR! If you haven’t, check out this quirky and poignant story about a girl who goes back to Coney Island to reclaim a piece of her history. Features a great sense of place and a host of unforgettable characters.

 

18048731

2. The Edge of Falling by Rebecca Serle (763 ratings)

I love books that take place in New York City. This gem of a thrilling contemporary novel follows the story of a broken girl dealing with complicated feelings that jump off the page and feel very real. Gorgeously written and with a twist on an infamous classic literary character, this is a book that you should get in your hands soon.

25184383

3. Kill the Boy Band by Goldy Moldavsky (1908 ratings)

This book is really unlike anything else I’ve read in YA. With biting wit and dark humor, this book is one of a kind. Get ready to laugh your ass off in this wild ride of a novel about some seriously twisted fangirls.

18710209

4. Tiny Pretty Things by Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton (1952 ratings)

HOW DOES THIS BOOK NOT HAVE MORE RATINGS? Ballerinas with a thirst for revenge, a diverse cast of characters and a fast-paced plot make this book a must-read for anyone with a love for juicy, suspenseful contemporary YA. Plus, the sequel comes out this month so you won’t have to wait long to jump into the next installment of this cutthroat story.

25894088

5. Fiona by Meredith Moore (33 ratings)

Again, such a great, dark, well-written novel that I was surprised didn’t have more ratings. Moore’s second novel is an absolute delight, an excellent exploration of first person with a protagonist who thinks she might be going crazy. Also features some messed up conspiracies and swoonworthy royal romance.

14999813

6. The Whole Stupid Way We Are by N. Griffin (412 ratings)

This book broke my heart and you should let it break your heart too. The story of a girl with only the best of intentions and an aloof boy hiding dangerous secrets is a quiet one, with a lot of the tension brimming under the surface. This book left me wanting more at the end and was one of my favorite gambles I’ve taken picking random books at the used bookstore.

15814479

7. Dear Life, You Suck by Scott Blagden (931 ratings)

Another gamble at my local used book store, I really enjoyed this book about a troublemaking boy living in a Catholic boys home. It’s a quick read and while dark at times, it’s the kind of contemporary you can read in a day.

distancebetween_final cover_4_1.indd

8. The Distance Between Lost and Found by Kathryn Holmes (1807 ratings)

I loved this book about three teenagers who get stranded in the woods, especially since I used to watch marathons of shows like Survivorman and I Survived growing up. With high stakes and plenty of twists and turns, this heartbreaking survival tale centered on an ostracized girl will have you on the edge of your seat.

15751652

9. Afterparty by Ann Reddish Stampler (986 reviews)

The first thing that drew me to this book was the beautiful cover. It’s a long book and it drags more than it should, but if you want a juicy story with high stakes, epic drama, steamy romance and toxic friendships then this might be the book for you.

16065555

10. September Girls by Bennett Madison (1776 ratings)

I’ve heard some complaints about this book as misogynistic. I didn’t feel the way about this book, although I will say this book is about mermaids, but…freaky mermaids. Still, it’s a good beach read and once you start it, you’ll want to know how it ends.

What are some of your favorite underrated books? Were you surprised by the number of ratings for some of your favorite books on Goodreads?

 

Author:

Writer, avid reader, blogger, art history nerd, student journalist & editor, bookstore connoisseur, honeybee advocate. Proud Jersey Girl. Drew '17.

19 thoughts on “Top Ten “Underrated” Books

  1. I reallllly have to read THE DISTANCE BETWEEN LOST AND FOUND and AFTERPARTY; I feel like I bought them both a million years ago. And I’m excited to hear good things about DREAMLAND SOCIAL CLUB since I adore most of Tara Altebrando’s other stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for reading! Dreamland was the first book of Tara Altebrando’s that I read. I’m so excited to read The Leaving, which sounds a lot darker than the other books I’ve read by her.

      Like

    1. I didn’t hear anything about it before I read it. I was just intrigued by the cover. There are definitely good things and bad things about it so you’ll have to see for yourself! I’m also a little surprised HarperTeen published it. It’s different from a lot of their stuff. Thanks for reading!

      Like

  2. I’ve heard that “The Distance Between Lost and Found” is really quite good, plus that cover? It’s gorgeous! Thanks for the reminder to look this one up next book shopping spree. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ALL of your books (except September Girls) are books I’ve really been wanting to read. I just finished The Leaving a few weeks ago and it’s made me really want to try more of Tara Altebrando’s books. Glad to know you liked Dreamland Social Club. I’ve been in a YA mystery phase so The Distance Between Lost and Found is one I’ve gotta bump up on my TBR!! Great list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve never heard of Kill the Boy Band before but it sounds hilarious! And Tiny Pretty Things has such a pretty cover as well as an intriguing summary. I think I started September Girls several months ago but never continued – I’m glad to hear that you like it as a beach read!

    Here’s my list. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m still surprised that Kill the Boy Band had under 2000 reviews because of all of the hype when it first came out…and because of how fantastic it was. Dreamland Social Club looks like a great summer read, I’ll definitely have to check that one out soon. Great List!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

