Posted in Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Things Books Made Me Want to Learn More About

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly book meme run by The Broke and the Bookish. Find out more information about it here.

This week’s topic:

July 26: Top Ten Things Books Have Made Me Want To Do or Learn About After Reading Them (inspired by my post wayyy back in 2012 that I did on a TTT freebie week and have so wanting to revisit. *hides because of the hideous graphics…I was just learning*)

Books are windows to other worlds, and often feature characters who are talented in things we will never be. Still, it’s nice to live through their eyes for a few hours. In no particular order, here’s a list of the top ten things books have made me want to learn, do or learn more about.

23437156

1. Parkour and Climbing: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Inez was my favorite character in the book. From the moment, she appeared on the page, I fell in love with her and her abilities to climb and stay out of sight. My favorite scene in the book was when she scaled a very hot wall with the help of Kaz’s leather gloves. So while I could say this book made me want to learn more about kissing Kaz Brekker, it really made me interested in climbing and parkour. I rock climb-so I guess I’m already halfway there!

image

2. Skiing: The Possibility of Now by Kim Culbertson

Culbertson’s quirky contemporary novel about a girl who moves to live with her father in Tahoe after having a panic attack during a calculus test taught me so much about skiing. I’ve always enjoyed watching it during the Olympics and there’s a resort near my house, but I’ve never done it. This novel gave me new respect for the sport and made me curious about trying my hand at the bunny slopes one day.

18812437-1

3. Driving: Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid

I don’t drive, which baffles a lot of people. But Alsaid’s road trip novel made me itch a little bit for the open road and the freedom of the wheel. I still haven’t changed my mind, but if I ever do learn to drive in the future, this novel will be one of the reasons why.

image

4. Rocky Horror Picture Show: The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

I had heard about The Rocky Horror Picture Show in passing, but the first time I really experienced it was in this novel. This is one of my favorite books (and I think the movie does a great job, especially with the Rocky Horror bits) and it definitely has piqued my interest in this cult classic. I haven’t seen it yet, but I definitely plan to soon.

18710209

5. Ballet: Tiny Pretty Things by Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton

I’ve been dragged to a few family dance recitals, but I never really had any interest in watching ballet. Or doing it myself. That is, until I discovered this beautiful duology about girls competing for the top spots in a highly selective ballet academy. I was drawn into the world of ballet like never before, and while I don’t think I’ll ever see a ballet, I now love to read about it and the process that these girls endure to compete.

11861815

6. Rugby: Winger by Andrew Smith

My University has a rugby club team instead of a football team, but I still know very little about the sport. Smith’s novel brought to sport to live in such a way that I just wanted to know everything about it. I’m too much of a fragile butterfly to ever try it for myself, but this book definitely gave me new interest and respect for this fascinating sport.

13060734

7. Sailing: Unbreak my Heart by Melissa Walker

I’m not a boat fan. I almost need a brown paper bag to make it across the Hudson in a ferry and I won’t go out on Greenwood Lake in my cousin’s boat because I’m terrified. Still, I loved this cute contemporary book about a girl who spends the summer on her parent’s boat. It gave me newfound interest in sailing and hey, I might even be interested in sailing too one day. But only on a river or a lake. And only if I wear a lifejacket.

16069030

8. Play Piano: The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

Music plays such a huge role in this book and I loved every single word, every single note. I never learned how to play the piano, but I played the violin in school until ninth grade and I desperately want to pick it back up. This book fueled that passion and I would love to learn to play the piano one day as passionately as Kestrel does.

22297294

9. Tennis: Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes

I played tennis once, for a few weeks in sophomore year high school gym class. I was terrible. I hated it. But I loved the way Stokes wrote about tennis in this sharp, funny contemporary romance novel about anxiety, tennis and cute boys. Maguire’s love of tennis and Jordy’s tennis stardom made me reconsider my longtime hatred of the sport and now I think I might need to try it again one day, not that I’ll be any good at it.

image

10. Non-Binary Gender: Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin

I remember sitting on my bed after I finished this book in one sitting and wanting to review it for my college’s newspaper, but being filled with newfound caution and consideration to make sure that in my review, I treated Riley’s gender fluidity with respect and compassion in my gushing of this stunning debut novel. This book also fueled my exploration of non-binary gender identity, helped me spark a productive conversation about gender in my school’s newspaper office and explore my own gender identity/expression. I ended up relating a lot more to Riley’s story than I thought I was and if I had to pick a book in 2016 that I was grateful for existing, this would be my top pick.

 

What have books made you want to learn? Did any of these books make you want to learn about something different?

 

Author:

Writer, avid reader, blogger, art history nerd, student journalist & editor, bookstore connoisseur, honeybee advocate. Proud Jersey Girl. Drew '17.

25 thoughts on “Top Ten Things Books Made Me Want to Learn More About

  1. Ah! Your Perks of Being a Wallflower pick is a good one! I had heard of Rock Horror but had never watched it when I read the book, and the book really made me want to watch it! I still haven’t (partly because I totally forgot about it until I saw your post) so I will have to get on that soon! I loved how it was used in the novel, relating to a movie/show/book the way they did to Rocky Horror is essential to the teenage experience.
    Great List!
    Mallory @ The Local Muse

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great list! I love to watch dance, but don’t know a step. Took piano for ten years, but I wasn’t a natural and haven’t touched a piano for ten years. It’s kind of sad, but hopefully someday I’ll sit down and remember SOMETHING! Also, Kim’s book sounds and looks good. I love its bright cover! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m not sure I could exist without being able to drive. I didn’t get my license till I was 19 and didn’t buy a car until I was in my 20’s but that was by necessity! I love a good road trip. IT’s so different from regular boring routine driving. And I loved Let’s Get Lost so I can completely understand that it’s that book which inspires you to want to drive a road trip. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh no driving? Though I secretly get this because I didn’t want to learn to drive initially, haha. I had to learn how to drive at some point because public transport was pretty bad where I lived back then. No trains. Just busses (with a stupid schedule) and a ferry.

    Playing the piano is a good one. Great list.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Parkour is definitely a handy skill to have, not because it’s flashy, but it would be extremely handy in an event that you really need to go somewhere but you’re being chased or something. I’ve played piano for around 11 years, but I stopped taking lessons last year to focus on clarinet but I still play from time to time.
    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Omg YES The Winner’s Curse was so inspiring! I want to play more music (I do play piano but I haven’t for years) and also learn how to do those mind games and be epic at the actual board games too. haha. #GOALS Also I’m re-reading Six of Crows right now and ajfsdklad KAZ BREKKER. ❤ But yes, also climbing would be cool. Or being a Grisha. 😉 I aim high. Here’s my TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Everything Everything made me want to learn Parkour! I’d really love to learn to ski too, unfortunately any snow we get in the UK very quickly gets washed away by rain! That’s cool that you have a resort right by where you live though 🙂
    I LOVED the Winner’s Trilogy and would love to be able to play piano like Kestrel. I actually learnt as a kid but gave it up, I really regret that now!
    And I agree about sailing, it looks really cool, but like you I would need life jackets, life boats, arm bands etc. And I couldn’t go on water that was really wavey!
    Hahaha 🙂 Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I need to read Everything, Everything still! It’s fun, but I’ve only been snow tubing there and they have a lake open in the summer. I agree about your additional safety precautions for sailing. Thanks for reading!

      Like

  8. The Possibility of Now seems interesting. Adding it to my TBR. The Perks of Being a Wallflower is my favorite book of all time. The Rocky Horror Show was definitely an interesting part of it! The movie really did a good job. Ever since I read 100 Sideways Miles, I’ve wanted to read Winger. Great list!
    Here’s mine:
    https://travellingthroughwords.wordpress.com/2016/07/31/top-10-tuesday-5-top-ten-things-books-have-made-me-want-to-do/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

