Posted in Book Review

Review: Riptide Summer by Lisa Freeman

31213005
Riptide Summer by Lisa Freeman, Sky Pony Press, 288 pp.

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥

In order to fully discuss this book, I had to include some spoilers. You’ve been warned! Also please note that I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. 🙂

When I look for the perfect “summer” book, I try and find books with a few recurring motifs on the covers: sunny skies, ocean waves, seashells, footprints in the sand and girls in bathing suits. Lisa Freeman’s latest novel Riptide Summer, the sequel to Honey Girl, fits the bill. I read this sunny story about surfing, friendship and heartbreak and paving your own way on the beach and enjoyed its historical setting, Hawaiian MC and raw setting. I loved Freeman’s first novel, but had some issues with the sequel that I will discuss below.

In Riptide Summer, Nani has become an official member of the Sisters of Sand, a clique of girls who own the State Beach scene in sunny Southern California. However, after Nani’s illicit relationship with fellow Sister of Sand Rox implodes in the wake of a shocking secret, Jean’s alcoholism spirals and

One of the most effective parts of this book was its setting in the 1970s. There aren’t many historical fiction stories in YA that also read like a fresh and relevant summer contemporary novel. I loved Freeman’s descriptions of the clothes that Nani would wear and the general cultural attitudes of the time like women’s liberation. In fact, I wish that Freeman had brought this rich culture more to the forefront of the novel.

I also loved the book’s characters. Riptide Summer features a diverse set of girls with different attitudes and experiences. I liked Nani’s journey through her confusion and insecurities towards taking a step to becoming the girl she was meant to be. Rox wasn’t my favorite character, but she felt real, like girls I’ve known and had falling outs with. I loved Ellie (aka Ms. ERA) and her sassy feminism, and I hope I’m not wrong in her name being a reference to Eleanor Roosevelt. I loved Windy/Wendy and the way she connects to Nani through queer female writing. There were cute book boys too, but they all seemed like caricatures at times. The girls stole the show in this one.

There were parts of the plot that worked for me and part that didn’t. I definitely wish that Nani surfing had been a more major part of the book. I felt like some of the scenes with the girls on the beach were a little repetitive. I would have liked to see Nani’s relationship with Jean fleshed out more and more scenes with her and Windy during the end of the book. Overall, it was a summer book. It was a quick, breezy, drama-packed novel.

My biggest issue with this book is that it didn’t feel at times like it treated serious issues with the gravity and significance that they deserved, particularly domestic violence, abortion and sex. I wish that Freeman had taken a few more paragraphs or sentences to outline what is okay in these situations and what is not. That extra clarity would have been appropriate in a book targeted to young readers, and girls in particular.

I was also really disheartened when, at the end of the novel, it takes Nani losing her virginity to Jerry in order to fully realize that she likes girls. I feel that this scene, while only two pages, presents a dangerous idea that a girl has to have sex with a guy, a major, major emotional event, in order to confirm her sexuality for herself. Girls reading this review. Please know that you NEVER have to do that. What you label yourself as is valid. Your confusion is valid. But you never need to have sex with a guy to “confirm” your sexuality. While I recognize that the novel takes place in the 1970s, the idea that this scene gives young queer girls reading this book for its representation is potentially dangerous.

The scene also omits any mention of protection (again, this book takes place after women’s liberation so I find it unlikely the idea of birth control wouldn’t have at least passed Nani’s mind at some point, especially after her friend gets pregnant). The scene also rests on a very shaky, murky notion of consent. Nani even refers to sex with a guy as being like a riptide, a comparison I found, as someone who has been sexually assaulted in the past, as problematic and potentially harmful for young readers who aren’t getting the significance of this moment from this scene. Young adult authors have a certain level of responsibility when writing about certain issues for their readers, sex being one of them.  

Overall, this novel felt like a transitional one in both content and style for this series. The writing style was choppy at points and beautiful in others. While the ending felt a little rushed and a bit too neatly tied up, I am anxiously waiting to hear if Freeman will be continuing Nani’s story. I would definitely love to where she takes her and the other Sisters of Sand after the end of this book.

Author:

Writer, avid reader, blogger, art history nerd, student journalist & editor, bookstore connoisseur, honeybee advocate. Proud Jersey Girl. Drew '17.

Leave a Reply

