Posted in Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books So Far of 2017

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly book meme run by The Broke and the Bookish. Find out more information about it here.

This week’s topic:

June 27Best Books You’ve Read In 2017 So Far (break it down however you want — by genre, strictly 2017 releases, whatever!)

I’m going to be totally honest. 2017 hasn’t been a huge reading year for me (Honors thesis, graduating, applying for grad school are all kinda massive time sucks). However, I did enjoy some GREAT books so far this year and can’t wait to share them with you!

28526192

1. 27 Hours by Tristina Wright

Queer kids fighting for what’s right in space. I’m not usually a sci fi kinda girl, but you literally cannot miss this one. This is going to make the “Top 3 Books I’ve Read in 2017” list for sure.

30653843

2. Radio Silence by Alice Osman

Great, voicy contemporary about a bisexual WOC and her demisexual best friend who make a podcast about surviving in an unforgiving world: Universe City. This book stole my heart-such a great cast of characters.

29640839

3. Girl Out of Water by Laura Silverman

Fun, heartfelt contemporary about a girl who learns about her family and herself after she must move for the summer from beachy southern California to small town Kansas.

25701463

4. You’re Welcome, Universe by Whitney Gardner

I love, love, love anything with art. This funky contemporary is about a Deaf WOC graffiti artist who must take down a local rival and adjust to life at public high school after she’s expelled. Check out my review here.

25613472

5. A List of Cages by Robin Roe

Written with the perfect amount of empathy and care, this dark contemporary follows the relationship between Adam, a dyslexic boy who wants to do good, and Julien, an orphaned boy harboring dark secrets at home. Check out my review here.

27883214

6. Caraval by Stephanie Garber

This magical high fantasy was one of the most dazzling books I’ve read this year. A tale about sisters, love, and what’s real, this book will steal your heart. Check out my review here.

30038855

7. Letters to the Lost by Brigid Kemmerer

I loved this dark contemporary (I tend to love dark stories). Two teens exchange anonymous letters in a cemetery and find comfort in each other’s words, but things get complicated when they discover each other’s real identity. Check out my review here.

30037870

8. Allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson

Speaking of dark books, this psychological novel about a girl who allegedly killed a baby when she was nine-years-old and seeks justice after she learns she is pregnant as a teenager is a wild ride. Beautiful writing and great twists. Check out my review here.

18484793

9. Gem & Dixie by Sara Zarr

Sara’s books never disappoint me and I love her compassionate and unflinching approach to tough issues that teens face! I really enjoyed this story about sisters who start to work out their complicated relationship to each other and their parents during one unpredictable weekend in Seattle.

32309404

10. No Good Deed by Goldy Moldavsky

This dark, satirical novel was fun to read! Lovers of Goldy’s debut Kill the Boy Band will enjoy the appearance of a side character. This book takes a comical take on civic engagement and social justice warriors.

I loved all of these books and can’t wait to read more great books this year. What are some of the best books you’ve all read this year?

Author:

Writer, avid reader, blogger, art history nerd, student journalist & editor, bookstore connoisseur, honeybee advocate. Proud Jersey Girl. Drew '17.

28 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books So Far of 2017

  1. I loved Radio Silence! It kept me up until 2am when I only meant to read one or two chapters, that’s how good it was. You’re Welcome, Universe, on the other hand, I didn’t enjoy as much because I couldn’t relate to it at all, but it was informative and I’m glad diverse books like that are becoming more popular. I haven’t read the rest of the books on your list but I’m intrigued by 27 Hours – you had me at “queer” and “space”.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Radio Silence took me a while to get into but then once I started reading it I couldn’t put it down. Ah, I’m an artist so YWU was right up my alley. PLEASE READ 27 HOURS WHEN IT COMES OUT. I PROMISE IT’S AMAZING!!!

      Like

  2. So many of these are on my TBR, so I’m really glad you enjoyed all of them! Caraval and A List of Cages particularly are two I’ve been meaning to pick up, so hopefully I can actually get round to reading them soon 🙂
    My TTT

    Like

  3. I really enjoyed Radio Silence. I want to read Girl Out of Water and Caraval. Awesome list!

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi! Thank you so much! My best advice is to do as much as you want and write about what you want. Don’t feel like you have to be the blogger who gets a ton of arcs or writes 5 posts every week. It’s all about having fun and meeting other readers who love books as much as you do! I definitely will after work today! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Girl out of water and Letters to the Lost are two of my favorite books!! They are amazing!! I didn’t love Caraval (sadly), and I haven’t read any of the others… yet! I know a few of these are going to make their way onto my TBR!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

